« Unhappy anniversary | Main | The Stoffel videos keep coming »

04/18/2005

All the power on earth …

Godfather_iii

… can't change destiny.

Fans of The Godfather, Part III will be amused by this story from WLS, the ABC affiliate in Chicago:

Authorities in Italy say they have cracked a 22-year-old murder mystery with links to the Vatican and to a former church official from Chicago's suburbs.

Four people have been charged in the 1982 death of Italian financier Roberto Calvi. Calvi had close ties to the Vatican Bank and to a now-retired archbishop from Cicero.

Roberto Calvi was found hanged under a bridge in London just days after the collapse of a bank he headed. The Vatican Bank had a large stake in Calvi's bank. Now, four people are charged with his murder.

The Chicago connection runs from the Chicago archdiocese, through suburban Cicero, to the Vatican and back to the US all in one man: Archbishop Paul Marcinkus, who rose from priest to papal bodyguard to head of the Vatican Bank. Marcinkus left after a scandal that Monday resulted in the indictments of four people, including a man reportedly linked to the mafia.

Marcinkus is not among those charged, but questions about his connections to those involved in the case, remain. In 1982, Archbishop Marcinkus had aligned the Vatican Bank with Italy's largest private banking group, Banco Ambrosiano. The Roman Catholic bank, headed by Marcinkus, was a major shareholder in Ambrosiano. The Vatican Bank had guaranteed $1.4 billion worth of loans made by Italy's scandal-ridden Banco Ambrosiano, loans used to finance fake companies in Latin America that funneled weapons to the Catholic nation of Argentina for use in the Falklands War.

The president of Banco Ambrosiano, Roberto Calvi, was so tight with the Vatican, he was known as "God's banker."

During the middle of the scandal, Calvi hanged himself, found beneath the Blackfriars Bridge in London, England, two days after his secretary committed suicide. At first, Calvi's death was also thought to be suicide.

But Monday in Rome, four people have been charged with the God's banker murder. Italian indictments name businessman Flavio Carboni and his girlfriend Manuela Kleinszig with murder, along with alleged mafia associate Giuseppe Pippo Calo and businessman Ernesto Diotallevi.

Prosecutors now say Calvi was laundering mafia money and that Calo ordered his murder.

Will the new Pope help clear up the mystery—or just perpetuate the cover-up?

Posted by Rodger on April 18, 2005 at 08:00 PM | Permalink

Comments

Just when the Church thought it was out, you pull them back in!

So, where was the telltale orange in all of this?

Posted by: Bernard Higgins | Apr 18, 2005 10:25:22 PM

The comments to this entry are closed.